Seemberg News

Latest Nigeria Business News

Six Enugu lawmakers dump LP amid party tussle with NLC


Labour-PartySix members of the Enugu State House of Assembly elected on the platform of the Labour Party, on Thursday, defected to the Peoples Democratic Party.

This was as a statement on Thursday by Sylvester Ejiofor, who described himself as the Chairman of the LP Board of Trustees, declared that the party’s leadership had been taken over from Julius Abure.

Ejiofor, in the statement, declared that Abure’s tenure had ended, dismissing his re-election on Wednesday at a convention held in Nnewi, Anambra State.

The six Enugu LP lawmakers, who defected from the party, hinged their decision on the crisis rocking the party, alluding to the recent picketing of the LP state offices by the Nigeria Labour Congress recently.

The lawmakers cited “the existence of irreconcilable division, incessant crisis within the Labour Party at the national level and across all the state chapters.”

“Regrettably, the party has evolved into state of perpetual discord with various factions embroiled in legal battles, thereby undermining its ability to effectively serve the interest of the people.

“The Labour Party, once a beacon of hope for progressive ideas, has regrettably become synonymous with internal squabbles, thereby reducing its capacity to fulfil the aspirations of electorates.”

They cited the leadership tussle between the LP National Chairman, Julius Abure; and the factional National Chairman, Lamidi Apapa faction.

They expressed hope that the PDP would give them the platform to continue to serve the interests of their people and thanked the leadership of Labour Party for their support.

The defectors included the Chief Whip of the House and member representing Igboeze North I,  Ejike Eze; the Leader of the House and member representing Enugu North, Johnson Ugwu, and the member representing Enugu South Rural, Princess Ugwu.

Others were the member representing Nsukka East, Pius Ezeugwu, member representing Igbo-Etiti West, Amuka Williams, and member representing Oji River, Osita Eze.

The motion for their defection was moved by Iloabuchi Aniagu and was seconded by Eneh.

The Enugu State Chairman of the party, Casmir Agbo, told our correspondent on telephone that the party would meet on Thursday next week and take decision on their defection.

Meanwhile, in a statement on Thursday, Ejiofor, who described himself as the LP BoT Chairman, said the BoT had taken over the party.

Previous Article

NSIA records 1122% rise in income

Next Article

Buhari, N’Assembly, Sanwo-Olu, others hail Tinubu @ 72

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *