Seemberg News

Latest Nigeria Business News

APC crisis: NWC dissolves Rivers chapter executives, names Wike loyalists caretaker committee


The National Working Committee, NWC, of the All Progressives Congress, APC, has dissolved the executive committees at all levels of its River State chapter.

Felix Morka, the ruling Party’s publicity secretary, disclosed this during a press conference on Wednesday.

The Party named Tony Okocha, a loyalist to the Minister of Federal Capital Territory, Nyesom Wike, as the Chairman of the Caretaker committee.

Addressing journalists at the end of the NWC meeting on Wednesday in Abuja, Morka said the Party’s decision was signed by the National Chairman, Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje and the Deputy National Secretary, Barr. Festus Fuanter.

He said, “The NWC of the APC at its meeting on 22 November 2023 and under the powers conferred upon it by the NEC of the Party and by the provision of Article 13 and recognizing compelling circumstances that have arisen in the Rivers state chapter necessitating decisive actions hereby resolves that the executive committees of the Party in Rivers state at all levels are dissolved.

“A caretaker committee shall be appointed to conduct a comprehensive e-registration of all members in the state;

“To facilitate the emergence of new executive committees extending from wards to the state.”

While he listed Chief Tony C. Okocha as Chairman, Chief Eric Nwibani was named Secretary. Hon. Chibuike Ikenga, Prince Stephen Abolo, Hon. Silvester Vidin, Senibo Karibi Dan-Jumbo and Miss Darling Amadi are members.

Okocha rooted for the nomination of Wike as the Minister representing Rivers State in President Bola Ahmed Tinubu’s cabinet.

Previous Article

Court of Appeal Upheld Abba Yusuf’s Election – Femi Falana

Next Article

Troops rescue five kids from traffickers at Nasarawa park

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *