Seemberg News

Latest Nigeria Business News

Maritime Arbitrators Get New Executives


A new set of executives has emerged to run the affairs of the Maritime Arbitrators Association of Nigeria (MAAN).

The executives were elected at its 15th Annual General Meeting (AGM) which took place in Lagos recently.

The AGM, which was virtually attended by its members, culminated in the election of the new executive council that would pilot the affairs of the MAAN in the coming years.

While Mr. Bodunrin Adewole was elected as president, Mrs. Jean Chiazor Anishere (SAN) was elected the vice president. Other elected members of the Executive Council are Mrs. Igbeaku Evulukwu, Honorary Secretary; Mrs. Oluseyi Adejuyigbe, Honorary Treasurer; Professor Ike Ehiribe C.Arb and Sir Osuala Nwagbara.

Besides being a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, (FCIArb), Adewole is a practicing arbitrator, accredited tutor, and legal practitioner.

Prior to his nomination and election as President of MAAN, Adewole served as its Chairman Training and Ethics Committee as well as Vice President from 2016 to 2021.

MAAN in a statement made available to Maritime Bits said in accordance with its constitution, its past presidents will remain as members of the Executive Council.

They are: Mr. Adewale Jones FCIArb (immediate past President), Mrs. Adedoyin Rhodes-Vivour SAN, C.Arb (Founding President), Chief Gbola Akinola SAN, C.Arb (Past President) and Dr. Ogbai Omoh-Eboh SAN, C.Arb (Past President).

MAAN was founded in Nigeria in 2005 as a professional organisation to provide effective cost and efficient alternative dispute resolution of maritime disputes in Nigeria through arbitration, mediation, and all other alternative dispute resolution (ADR) mechanisms.

Previous Article

FG Outlines Administration’s 100 Achievements in 2021

Next Article

EdTech Startup, Teesas Closes Pre-seed Round of $1.6 Million

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.