Seemberg News

Latest Nigeria Business News

Senate President Commits to Budget Passage Before Christmas


The President of the Senate, Dr. Ahmad Lawan, has committed that the Senate would pass the 2022 budget before Christmas and would commence its implementation in January 2022.

The Senate president said this yesterday at the New Telegraph awards where he was awarded with the Lifetime Achievement Award in Politics.

Also, the Governor of Lagos of Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu was named Governor of the Year, Good Governance, while the Governor of the Central bank of Nigeria (CBN), Godwin Emefiele was awarded the Man of the Year, Economy and THISDAY/ARISE Group Chairman, Nduka Obaigbena was recognised as the Media Icon of the Year.

Speaking on the budget, Lawan said; “It is in this Senate that we have been able to pass the budget before Christmas in 2020, we passed the budget before Christmas for 2021 and this year we are going to pass the budget for 2022 before Christmas. That, I am sure of and we would start implementation of the budget in the first month of the New Year.”

He further noted that the federal government was tackling insecurity seriously and all arms of government were committed to restoring peace.

He added: “Nigeria faces insecurity challenges but there is certainly determination at all levels of government to fight the insecurity that we face.”

The governors of Ogun and Abia states, Prince Dapo Abiodun and Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu were named Governors of the Year Digital Economy and SME Development respectively and were present to receive their awards. Also, Governor of the Year Youth Empowerment was awarded to the Governor of Kogi State, Yahaya Bello.

Other awardees include the Managing Director AMCON, Ahmed Kuru who received the Public Integrity Award for the Year, while Senator Sani Musa was named the Most Innovative Senator of the Year.

Most Outstanding Minister of the Year went to Minister of State Petroleum, Timipre Sylva.

Other awardees were Downstream Oil and Gas Executive of the Year, Founder Managing Director Rain Oil, Gabriel Ochechi, Architecture Company of the Year Baron Architecture and Most Outstanding Humanitarian of the Year, BUA Foundation.

While the Regulator of the Year was awarded to Nigeria Communication Commission (NCC), Banking Product of the Year, Switch by Providus Bank Plc, Most Innovative Senator of the Year, Senator Mohammed Sani Musa and Banker of the Year, Managing Director Heritage Bank, Mr. Ifie Sekibo.

Also, receiving the award on behalf of the CBN governor, Deputy Governor, Economic Policy, CBN, Kingsley Obiora, noted that the award is a testament to good works of the apex bank and that they would continue to do what is best to grow the economy.

He said: “This award ceremony would encourage us to continue to do the work for the betterment of the bank and all Nigerians.”

Previous Article

N19.3bn Kogi salary bailout fund returned to CBN –EFCC

Next Article

N’Assembly Transmits Amended 2021 Electoral Act to Buhari for Assent

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *