Seemberg News

Latest Nigeria Business News

South West governors, others to converge on Ibadan for late Adebayo


Governors from the six states in the South West Zone would converge on Ibadan on Thursday to pay their last respects to late General Adeyinka Adebayo, a former military governor of the defunct Western Region.

Adeyinka Adebayo
Adeyinka Adebayo

The region was later broken into Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti States.

Olalekan Alli, the Secretary to the Oyo State Government, said this in Ibadan on Monday.

The late Mr. Adebayo, who died on March 8 in Lagos at 89 years, was a former military governor of the then Western region between 1966 and 1971.

Mr. Alli, who is the Chairman of the Special Committee set up for the event, said the lying-in-state would take place at the Parliament Building at the Oyo State Secretariat.

“Late Gen. Adeyinka Adebayo was a predecessor of the six south west governors collectively.

“ It is our belief that there is nothing more honourable than to give the late military hero a befitting burial.

“Dignitaries from all walks of life will join the Southwest governors to celebrate the exit of this icon,’’ he said.

Previous Article

‎Federal Character Commission investigates SSS over lopsided employment

Next Article

SWIFT chooses Tony O. Elumelu to deliver closing address during its Regional Conference

You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.